• Blues Week

    Blues Week

    Get ready for a week of games, fun, and excitement!
    It's a great way to meet new friends and learn about your university.
    Read More
  • Great College

    Great College

    For the fourth year in a row, The W has been named one of the
    best colleges in the nation to work for by The Chronicle of Higher Education.
    Read More
  • Distinguished Alumnus

    Distinguished Alumnus

    Dr. Doris Taylor ('77), director of regenerative medicine at the Texas Heart Institute,
    will receive the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the American Association of State Colleges and Universities.
    Read More
  • The W Life

    The W Life

    We know college is more than just academics. You'll find a place to fit in at The W.
    Read More
  • Historic Campus

    Historic Campus

    Take a tour of our beautiful, historic campus and find out why we think you'll love it here.
    Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

GiallourakisCOLUMBUS, Miss. – Each year awards are presented to W faculty recognizing their role as the heart of the university. This year’s recipient, Dr. Janice Giallourakis, was the recipient of two distinguished honors--the Kossen Faculty Excellence Award and Faculty Member of the Year.


Giallourakis, who has made significant contributions to the nursing program, university and the community, retires after 30 years. She has been involved with community service most of her nursing career.

The Kossen Faculty Excellence Award includes a $5,000 stipend. The award was established in 2004 by Connie Kossen, a 1964 alumna of MUW, and her husband Tom.

Criterion for the award is based on three fundamentals: excellence in teaching, excellence in scholarly or artistic achievement and excellence in service, preferably both on campus and in communities throughout MUW’s service area. Further, to be considered for this award, a faculty member must exhibit a commitment to student success in each of these three areas of responsibility.

Dr. Sheila Adams, dean for the College of Nursing and Speech-Language Pathology, said, “Her enthusiasm and energy are a part of who she is and it has a positive impact on all of us. Over the years Janice has always gone over and above in her efforts to provide quality teaching to our students.

“Providing excellent teaching and clinical experiences for our nursing students has remained a top priority for Janice over the past 30 years. Her exceptional classroom and clinical teaching have remained as an example for all faculty over the years.”

The Faculty Member of the Year Award, which includes an award in the amount of $1,000, is an honor bestowed upon the faculty member who, above all, values quality teaching. The individual selected is truly a symbol of MUW’s highly regarded faculty.

MUW’s Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board and the MUW Alumni Association, which provides a generous$1,000 award, jointly recognize the Faculty Member of the Year. A faculty portrait will be placed with other awardees' photographs on the walls of Whitfield Hall.

Giallourakis’ career at The W started in 1983 and includes previously serving as interim director of the Baccalaureate Nursing Program. She has served as the Student Nurses Association adviser since 2001.

In 2012, she was nominated for the Elsevier Exceptional Nursing Educator Award. Currently, she represents the Mississippi Nurses’ Association, District 18, and has served in various leadership roles including president, vice president, secretary, delegate and board member. Giallourakis also is a member of the American Nurses’ Association.

Her community involvement includes work with St. Joseph Catholic Church in Starkville. She has volunteered with the Salvation Army, Katrina Relief, United Way, American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Leukemia Society and many more.

Giallourakis earned her master of science in nursing in psychiatric nursing from Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, and her bachelor of science in nursing from Alverno College in Milwaukee, Wis.



Upcoming Events

  • Freshman & Transfer Orientation Tue. 2 Aug, 2016 (9:00 am - 5:00 pm) Orientation assists students as they transition to MUW, whether they are transferring from another college setting or entering as a first-time coll...
  • Blues Week 2016 Sat. 20 Aug, 2016 8:00 am - Sat. 27 Aug, 2016 11:00 pm Mark your calendars for Blues Week 2016! The Office of Student Life hosts a week full of exciting events to get the new and returning students conn...
  • Blues Week 2016-Welcome Back BBQ Sat. 20 Aug, 2016 (5:00 pm - 7:00 pm) Kick off Blues Week 2016 events with the Welcome Back Blues Week Picnic. The picnic is a great opportunity for new students parents and family memb...