• 1

Common Reading Initiative

2016 Selection: brown girl dreaming

Brown Girl Dreaming

A multi-award-winning book will be the 2016-17 Common Read at Mississippi University for Women.

Recommended by a cross-campus committee of faculty and staff, “Brown Girl Dreaming” is Jacqueline Woodson’s National Book Award-winning collection of poems about growing up in the South during the 1960s and 1970s. The book also has earned the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement; the Newberry Honor Medal; the Coretta Scott King Award; the Caldecott Medal; and The Parents’ Choice Award, among others. “Brown Girl Dreaming,” told in verse, is the story of Woodson’s upbringing primarily in South Carolina during a time of transition in the South. Now living in Brooklyn, N.Y., she has said that there’s still a lot of South in her.

About the Common Reading Initiative

The Common Reading Initiative (CRI) at Mississippi University for Women draws on our rich literary heritage and builds on The W's tradition of excellence in teaching to:

  • Develop intellectual community among students, staff, and faculty outside the traditional classroom,
  • Foster intellectual curiosity, inquiry, and responsibility among all groups,
  • Deepen understanding of issues raised in significant books, and
  • Provide opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to engage socially in meaningful ways.


Book cover used with permission of Penguin Random House Academic Resources.