Loading
  • CRI Header

Common Reading Initiative

2013 Selection: Rivers

RiversThe W has selected Michael Farris Smith's Rivers for the Common Reading Initiative. The entire MUW campus is encouraged to read and discuss this important book.

 

About the Book

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Larry Brown, and James Lee Burke, Rivers is an enthralling, darkly beautiful novel set in Mississippi against the backdrop of a series of devastating storms that pummeled the American South in the years since Hurricane Katrina.

More>

 

About the Common Reading Initiative

The Common Reading Initiative (CRI) at Mississippi University for Women draws on our rich literary heritage and builds on The W’s tradition of excellence in teaching to:

  • Develop intellectual community among students, staff, and faculty outside the traditional classroom,
  • Foster intellectual curiosity, inquiry, and responsibility among all groups,
  • Deepen understanding of issues raised in significant books, and
  • Provide opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to engage socially in meaningful ways.

1100 College Street Columbus, MS 39701phone: 662.329.4750 or 877.462.8439