Carmen E. Osburn, MA, MT-BC, associate professor and director of music therapy at The W was awarded the Professional Service Award by the Southeastern Region of the American Music Therapy Association (SER-AMTA) at its conference April 13.

 Osburn currently serves as president elect of the region and will take the office of president in 2019. She held the office of 2nd vice president from 2009 to 2017, which included duties of webmaster and editor of the newsletter Quodlibet. In addition, she represents the Southeastern Region on the American Music Therapy Association’s Assembly of Delegates, the legislative body of the association and the Academic Program Approval Committee, which is charged with the approval of new music therapy academic programs and re-approval of established degree programs around the country. She was recently appointed to the AMTA Assembly Bylaws Task Force.

Other past national committee work includes the AMTA Standards of Clinical Practice Committee. Osburn currently represents Mississippi on the SER-AMTA Continuing Education Committee and has served as the state representative to the Government Relations Committee in the past. She also serves on the Mississippi Music Therapy State Advocacy Task Force to promote the missions of AMTA and the Certification Board for Music Therapists, and to promote recognition of music therapy at the state legislative level.

She has been a member of The W faculty since 2005.

Upcoming Events

University Relations Logo

University Relations

1100 College Street
Columbus, MS 39701

Stovall House
Phone: (662) 329-7119
Fax: (662) 329-7123