Preserving the Experience

Amanda Clay Powers

My mother, Cheralyn Hendrix Powers ’71, worked in Fant Memorial Library as a student assistant when it was in the building now known as Welty Hall. I have always loved hearing her tell the story of her imagination getting swept away by the books she was shelving in the basement. Growing up, every time we visited a library I felt like I was embarking on an adventure.

Read more ...

Serious accident leads to discovery of career

Pate Bishop

Pate Bishop is one step closer in his journey from patient to practitioner. At the age of 17, Bishop had just finished the first day of his senior year of high school. That afternoon, on the way home from Hatley High School, Bishop lost control of his vehicle. The results were a broken wrist, several broken ribs and compression fractures to his vertebrae.

Read more ...

Taylor named Distinguished Alumnus by AASCU


COLUMBUS, Miss.—A Mississippi University for Women graduate, internationally known for her research in stem cell therapy and cardiac repair, will receive the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the American Association of State Colleges and Universities.

Read more ...