Dr. Dorsey named The W’s Black History Month Educator of the Year nominee

Dr. Kimberly DorseyCOLUMBUS, Miss. - Dr. Kimberly Dean Dorsey of Columbus, associate professor of management at Mississippi University for Women, was selected as the university’s 2013 Black History Month Educator of the Year nominee.


Faculty members named provost fellows to address areas critical to the university

Callaway HallCOLUMBUS, Miss. – Three faculty members at The W have been named provost fellows to help with future planning and address areas critical to the university, including global engagement, scholarly and creative engagement and teaching innovation and engaged learning.


`Rivers’ makes Hudson Booksellers Best Books of 2013

Michael Farris SmithCOLUMBUS, Miss. – Online, bookstores, and now airports are the latest location where Michael Farris Smith’s debut novel “Rivers” can be purchased.


Alumna Shelley Moss named director of admissions

MossCOLUMBUS, Miss. – Shelley M. Moss was recently named director of admissions at The W. Moss of Kennedy, Ala., had been serving as interim director of admissions since May 2013.


Wijewardane receives American Association of Nurse Practitioners State Award for Excellence

Dr. Johnnie Sue WijewardaneCOLUMBUS, Miss. – Dr. Johnnie Sue Wijewardane, department chair of the graduate nursing program at Mississippi University for Women, has been recognized for her contributions to nurse practitioners and patients in the state of Mississippi.


Page 1 of 7

1100 College Street Columbus, MS 39701phone: 662.329.4750 or 877.462.8439