COLUMBUS, Miss. -- Dr. Erin Kempker, associate professor of history and chair of History, Political Science, and Geography at The W, was recently honored with the 2018 Educator of the Year: Post-Secondary College Award by the Lowndes County Chamber of Commerce’s Education Committee.

The Annual Education Awards Program recognizes the best students and educators in Lowndes County, and the award for Educator of the Year: Post-Secondary College is chosen by faculty at East Mississippi Community College and The W. Kempker is active on campus, serving in various capacities.

In February, she represented the university at the Higher Education Appreciation Day, Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) Appreciation Day in Jackson. HEADWAE was established by Mississippi Legislative Resolution to annually honor the academically talented students and faculty members of Mississippi's higher education institutions who have made outstanding contributions in promoting academic excellence

Last year she was named The W’s faculty member of the year during spring commencement ceremonies. Kempker has served as an associate professor of history for the department since 2008. During her time at The W, Kemper has held the role of chair of the Academic Integrity Committee, president of the American Association of University Women and been a member of the Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Council.

In 2016, Kempker chaired a working group for a committee composed of faculty, staff and students that commemorated the 50th anniversary of the desegregation of the university. She, along with colleagues, were involved with researching the history surrounding desegregation and integration at The W in 1966.

May 4, 2018

Upcoming Events