Pioneers Plaza

Mississippi University for Women dedicated a new campus space, Pioneers Plaza, which honors individuals who have contributed to shaping the university’s history.

The first six African-American students who enrolled at The W in 1966 were recognized Feb. 23 as part of the ceremony. Th ey included Diane Hardy, Barbara Turner and Laverne Greene as undergraduates and Jacqueline Edwards, Mary L. Flowers and Eula M. Houser as graduate students. All were from Columbus.

“We are excited about this new space on campus, which is a visible way for us to honor the rich history of our university,” said MUW President Jim Borsig. “Pioneers Plaza is an opportunity for us to recognize the courage of those individuals whose actions marked major turning points in our history.”

The program included remarks by the honored guests and music by United Harmony, followed by a reception.

The campus community and public were invited to the ribbon-cutting ceremony of Pioneers Plaza, the corridor that stretches from Carrier Chapel east toward Welty Hall.